Kottil Rammohan

Kottil W. Rammohan, MD, is a Professor of Neurology and the Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Center at the University of Miami, Miami, FL. He is board certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine, and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology with special competence in Neurology.

A graduate of Madras Medical College in Chennai, India, Dr. Rammohan completed an internship at the Cook County Hospital in Chicago, and trained as a resident in Internal Medicine and Neurology at The Ohio State University. He was a Fellow and Senior Clinical Associate at the National Institutes of Health where he trained in the fields of Neurovirology and Neuroimmunology under the tutelage of Dr. Henry McFarland, and the late Dr. Dale McFarlin.

A participant in a number of investigator and industry initiated clinical trials, Dr. Rammohan’s main research interest is in understanding the pathogenesis and treatment of multiple sclerosis (MS). In particular, he has been involved with understanding mechanisms of fatigue, and designing treatments for this disabling symptom. He had special interests in understanding MS by magnetic resonance imaging, specifically, imaging MS brain abnormalities at Ultra high field strength (8 tesla). His contributions include developing novel and simple techniques for examination of abnormalities in the cerebrospinal fluid in MS. At a basic level, his interests include exploring autoimmunity to ion channels in MS and exploring mechanisms of action of the presently used disease modifying therapies in multiple sclerosis.

Integrally involved in the study of MS, Dr. Rammohan has served the National Multiple Sclerosis Society as a member of both the Medical Advisory Board and the Clinical Care Committee. He chaired the Clinical Advisory Committee at the National level. He is a member of a number of data safety monitoring and Steering committees for national and international Phase 2 and 3 clinical trials.

Dr. Rammohan was recognized for his support of MS with the following national honors: The Hope Award, The Spirit Award, Outstanding Physician Recognition Award, MS Society Volunteer Hall of Fame, and Best Doctors in America.